Alright, I guess I'll get around to the second half of this post. I indeed make good on my word, you have my word for that, as well as my words to follow.

So anyway, after aforementioned (see last blog post) wisdom-teeth removal surgery, I was pretty woozy on account of the lingering anesthesia, though I'm proud to say that I only had to hold on to the wall a few times on my way down the hall and out the door. My father would then drive me home, as we're a strictly anti-traffic-accident family.

Once home, I didn't let a little thing like my post-surgery condition stop me from immediately running my laundry. However, I subsequently did let it stop me from doing anything but play video games for the rest of the day. The doctor's orders were "Take it easy," after all. And boy, take it easy I did!

You know, I'm rather fond of times when I'm afflicted by some mild illness or condition, such that I'm not so weak as to be stuck bedridden, but still should avoid anything strenuous or involving. Too often in my free time I find myself fretting over whether I should partake in leisure or work on one of my festering personal projects, and this fretfulness can be quite frightful at times. However, when I'm under the weather, my choice is made for me, and I can, without any burden upon my conscience, make headway in my game or show backlogs.

Really, it's so great, I should start having surgery done more often. I'm looking forward to when my stupidity teeth grow in and have to be removed. But I digress.

So, once my laundry was banging around the washer, I was free to do as I wish. Thus, I booted up the good ol' game "Slay the Spire," which I'd recently been spurred to play some more of on account of my favourite high school math teacher, who'd gotten the game partially due to my recommendation, mentioning that he'd beaten the secret final boss,* which I'd yet to do myself on account of focussing instead on increasing my new game plus level. Naturally, I could not be content falling behind like that, even if he who I am falling behind is my much respected favourite high school math teacher.

Now, Slay the Spire is a turn based strategy game, which was a good choice for a post-procedure endeavour as anything too high octane would no doubt kill me. That is not to say the the Spire is not intense, of course. Tension mounted as my run continued, and I managed to defeat the combat directly before the secret final boss...

It was then that I chanced a glance in the mirror to my side, and saw a stream of bloody saliva dripping from my mouth. Zounds! Quite the sight! For all I know, it may have been going on like that for, perhaps, five or so minutes, as I'd been unable to notice it on account of my mouth's anesthetic state. In any case, of course had to pause my run in order to rectify the situation; that is, to replace the bloodied gauze I was biting down upon.

I found this minor ordeal very amusing. It's not every day that you fail to notice blood dripping from your own mouth. Unless you've some morally horrid hobbies and/or dietary practices, of course.

Later in the day, I would then continue my Spire run and, in great triumph, defeat the secret final boss.** On an unrelated note my PR team requests that you do not read the double-asterisked statement at this bottom of this blog. Advice told to me via a note passed beneath the conference room table aside, after having won the fight, even before viewing the finale cutscene, I booted up my email client and sent a very excited email to my favourite high school math teacher. Because truly, the real finale cutscene were the friends I made along the way.

As mentioned prior, the rest of that day was indeed spent playing many other games. Here's a pro-tip from me: if you're going to spend the whole day playing video games, you may feel less guilty about it by the end of the day if you vary up what you play. That is, play a variety of games such that it feels as though you'd done more that day. It's always more fun, anyway, to look back on the day knowing that not only did you play a lot of video games, you also played a lot of video games.

But don't forget to go outside at some point, too! Despite the many jokes I like to make at my expense, I actually make sure to get out for a stroll at least once a day. I wouldn't want rigor mortis to set in too early.

Of course, the doctor's orders were to take it easy not only throughout the rest of the day after the procedure, but for the next few days as well. So you can probably guess how that went. Here's a pro-tip from me: if you're going to spend the whole weekend playing video games... You get the idea.

On the topic of my overall condition throughout that post-unwizening weekend, I really wasn't half bad. Was able to ditch the gauze later that day and was well enough to play Deep Rock Galactic with my buddies in the evening. One such pal commented on the fact that, compared to two of our other friends who'd had their wisdom teeth removed, I was faring substantially better. One of those two was referred to by us as "Minecraft Steve" for some days after his procedure, on account of his comically swelled jaw. The other, apparently, was out of sorts for a whole week after the thing. Me? I didn't even need to bother with any of my prescribed painkillers. Either I was rather lucky as to the positioning of my facial nerves in relation to my wisdom teeth, or I am extremely skilled at post-surgery recovery. Whether by skill or RNG, however, a win is a win. But I'm not here to brag about my awesome luck and/or endurance. That's what the group chat containing my aforementioned friends is for.

On a tangential note, one game in particular I played through in its entirety during/around that weekend was a narrative title titled "Mr. Rainer's Solve-It Service." It was a good one. I'd recommend it to anybody who also likes games that primarily consist of reading and atmosphere. I also started watching the show "Frieren: Beyond Journey's End" (or rather started watching it again, after having seen the first two episodes months back whilst I was ill), which has quickly become one of my favourite animes. It's a rather popular one, though, so it hardly needs vouching from me.

That's enough media recommendations from me. In fact, this is enough writing from me. I think I've covered all my bases in regards to what I wanted to say in this entry. I covered the part about the missile launch aversion codes you'll have to punch in before tomorrow, right? I'd hope so, or we'll soon be hearing Vera Lynn's "We'll Meet Again."

Well, I'll write again some other time I suppose. I've actually got a few amusing anecdotes I plan to compile into one or more blog posts, so look forward to that in fourteen catrillion years. In the meantime, this is Not Billison, four teeth less wise, signing off.

(Bah, I've finally knocked this blog post regarding my wisdom teeth-removal off my to do-list. Next major life event, I suppose, is either my marriage or ordination, so if I don't get around to my current anecdotal post ideas, you can count on those. Maybe.)

*Which I will not name, despite the game having been out for years now and it being somewhat obvious. There could be potential new players reading this blog, you see! Not that I've been paid by the game's marketing team to promote it here or anything. That would be a terribly ineffectual use of their marketing funds.

**Okay, fine, I'll admit it. I save-scummed, that is, restarted the fight by quitting to the title screen and then booting back into it, once. But only once! And, y'know, if you've played Slay the Spire or any similar roguelike you can surely sympathize with the desire for an hour+ run to not have been for nought. Besides, wouldn't you say that the handicap I was faced with, what with how I had to manage the saliva stream from my re-gauzed mouth, was a worthy tradeoff?