Allow Me to Ramble

This morning I decided to listen to the Ozzy Ozbourne song "Mr. Crowley," which I had taken a liking to as of late thanks to my father's recent purchasing of a number of Ozbourne CDs. It's a rather fantastic song, with cool riffs, well-delivered vocals, and nifty lyrics. One of my favourite bits being his rhyme of "Mister Crowley" and "Mister, allow me."

In any case, as I listened to the song in the morn I decided to also read up on its lyrics, for there are a number of lines where it is somewhat difficult to discern exactly what Oz is saying, and it was then that I came to a devastating revelation.

    "Mister Charming," then "Mister Alarming," is how my aforementioned favoured bit went.

I must admit, this does ever so slightly lower my opinion of the song, but mainly because I have suffered this very ordeal before, and for this incredibly specific wound to be re-opened felt quite absurd.

You see, rather recently I had been watching the anime "Kaguya-Sama: Love is War." It is a very good show, with one of its goodest parts being its opening songs. All three seasons* feature opening songs that rock incredulously hard, even if rock is probably not the genre. Masayuki Suzuki et al. do a real darn great job.

Anyway, the Love is War season 1 intro song was... uh... Well it's title is in katakana, which I cannot be bothered to type nor find and copy/paste at the moment, but it's on Suzuki's album "Funky Flag." There was a time when I would have bet money that the song's chorus goes "Allow me, mister," but I'm sure it is obvious by now what the result of such a wager would be.

    "Oh love me, mister," the song truly goes.

Go figure. It's in the show's title.

So what is the moral of today's stories? I don't know. I'm just hoping that I conveyed them adequately. It is somewhat late at the moment and I still have some homework to do before I can turn myself in for the night, but I felt the need to type this now, for "This morning" sounds like a better start to a blog post than "Yesterday morning."


Now allow me to change the topic completely to something else that happened today.

I was out on my daily stroll, nearing its end. (Naturally, for all strolls must come to an end lest one be lost forever.) On the sidewalk on the other side of the road pass by one of my least favourite things: a group of teenagers. There were four, if I remember correctly, and they were all wearing grey and dark colours. Though I cannot in good faith critique their wardrobe choices for most of mine is also grey and dark colours, but fashion politics are beside the point.

The point was that I overhead some of their rather loud conversation, which had apparently turned to the topic of children and, it seems, raising them. Along with other chatter, I hear something under the lines of the following:

    "Yah if I had a kid I'd probably abuse it."

It was stated nonchalantly, and was perhaps a joke. In fact, now that I think about it, it probably was meant to be a joke, and I simply did not recognize it fully as such due to their tone of voice not featuring the indications of humour that I am used to. That is, I was not familiar with the comedic inflections, or lack thereof, of those youth. That's an interesting thought.

In any case, I type as if I felt the remark was totally serious when I heard it, but that was not so. Even then I felt it was likely somewhat joking. But then I thought back to a certain notion I believe in: that what begins as a joke can very easily become reality.

Joke about, say, poking fun at a friend and you may very well soon find you and others poking fun at that friend. Joke about heavy topics and you will become desensitized to them, and take them less seriously. Thus, joke about abuse and you will take it less seriously, and perhaps be less wary of when you are administering it to another person.

So what is the moral of this story? The moral is that I am too paranoid of teenagers. It does not help that I currently am one. Every time I look in the mirror I flinch.

Oh, and the other moral to the earlier story is simply that Fourteen Cats Named Billison should totally write a song featuring the words "mister" and "a loud mi" so that I may finally be at peace.

This is Not Billison, signing off, I reckon.

*Here, I was going to insert a remark regarding animes with a fantastic season 1 opening song, but a lackluster song in its season 2, citing "Strawberry Panic" as an exemplar. However, I decided to give SP's season 2 intro a brief relisten and, upon further intro-spection, it ain't half bad. Though I still maintain that season 1 is superior.

Oh, and here's a Spotify link for Strawberry Panic's season 1 intro song. I provide it because its title is in Japanese and so may be difficult for some to find.